The loveliness of college applications

The internet is a beautiful thing. It truly is. My generation is blessed to have been raised with it, even though we don’t truly understand how blessed. With just one click, the world is at our fingertips. I can teach myself anything I want because of tutorials on Youtube. I can talk to all of my friends without actually having to make contact through sites such as Twitter and Facebook. And, I have the ability to digitally beg for acceptance into a college. Awesome.

I don’t quite understand the college application process. It’s quite mysterious. With there being around 1,000 people in my graduating class, we don’t get a lot of help from our school counselors either. I’ve been on my own for quite a bit of this process, which is slightly okay, but mostly terrifying. How is this college going to accept me or deny me based on almost nothing? Applications all pretty much ask for the same group of things: GPA, ACT/SAT score, and extracurriculars. But wait… those things say hardly anything about who I am as a person!

If only there was an essay question that said: “Are you passionate about furthering your education? If so, why us?”

My college and I should be in a relationship. They should want me as much as I want them. It’s just not fair. I didn’t spend my high school years completely sleep deprived for nothing, I refuse to accept the fact that even though I forced myself into drinking coffee at 3am just to stay awake long enough to finish an essay, I won’t be enough for the college of my choice. Don’t they know I gave myself anxiety attacks over them? Full blown panic attacks? How can they tell me I might not be worth their time?

You see, I’m really not a math person. So while I got A’s in all of my non-math classes, I got a C in my two math related classes. (My first C ever…it was absolutely devastating.) Those C’s might make or break my acceptance, even though my career  will have nothing to do with math. It’s really not fair. 

I truly believe college applications should look more into personality and less into grade point averages. It would create a much more educated world. 

2 thoughts on “The loveliness of college applications

  1. GPA is important, schools are putting more and more weight on the personal essay–the place to really let your personality shine. They are also putting a lot more stock into extracurricular activities. I think that maintaining a blog should also count in some capacity. Moreover, if your grades are pretty good for the most part, they’re probably not going to be put off by one or two not so hot grades. Good luck, and if you want to start early on knowing how to get a 4.0 GPA in college, please check out my blog: http://ekpreston.wordpress.com/ .

    Like

Leave a Reply

