Borrowed lungs

I look upon big cities
and hear thundering trains
and I can feel soft snowflakes
falling upon my face

I watch lights flash on
filling the world with cheer
and I wonder what you would say
if you were still here

I loved hearing you speak
even after your voice was gone
and I loved how your face lit up
when we told stories until dawn

I remember when you saw your name in lights
and you continued to keep thanking me
but deep down I knew
the truth, you could clearly see

You were my inspiration
my starring piece
but I’d give back every recognition
to be able to extend your lease

That next pair of lungs was borrowed
as was so much more
but after that day
the fight was worse than before

Your eyes closed as I fought for my breath
and you slipped away into sweet, sweet death.

2 thoughts on “Borrowed lungs

Leave a Reply

