The excitement of new environments

We all become so used to the environment we grow up in. We grow close to the people around us and we get to know the community we live in. It’s hard to think about one day packing up your bags and leaving it all for something completely new. One day, however, that time will come. For me, it’s coming up much sooner than expected.

As my American readers will know, nothing moves you away faster than college. It’s a sudden shock that you must decide what you want to do for the years to come and where you want to spend at least four years studying. It’s terrifying and exhilarating at the same time.

I was recently accepted into my dream school: DePaul University in Chicago. As soon as I got my acceptance e-mail, I joined the Facebook page for accepted upcoming freshman. That’s where my story begins.

I have always been an outgoing person. I love meeting new people and hearing their stories. So I became extremely excited when I was placed into a group with over 200 brand new people. I noticed quickly how open everyone seemed to be – everyone started introducing themselves and commenting on each others posts – connections were forming from nothing.

Those posts turned into a group chat, which led to even more connections. It is an amazing experience to make so many new friends in such a short period of time. It makes the transition of dependence to independence so much easier when you are joining hundreds of people in the same situation.

I didn’t understand how college could bring people so close together until now. I mean really, what’s a better way to push people together than throwing a huge group of 18 year olds out on their own? It’s a game of survival, and to thrive you must find a group of people that will support you through your struggles, as you will do for theirs. Which is exactly what college gives opportunity to. With this excitement, I have allowed my fear to dissipate because I know that I will not be alone in my journey.

My specific group has already talked about our support for all ethnicities, LGBT, and international students. We’ve talked about our similarities and differences and how crazy it is that some of us are in California and others are in Boston. We are slowly becoming a family as we all are tossed out into the unknown. I am grateful for this new environment and the relationships that will come out of it – I am for once excited to explore on my own.

Leave a Reply

