Someone explain to me the obsession with prom?

As my readers know, I’m at the end of my senior year of high school. I still have plenty of memories to be made within the last few months of my senior year, including graduation, graduation parties, the senior party and… prom. Ugh.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love getting dressed up and looking pretty as much as the next girl, but prom seems to be held up on a pedestal for high school girls and I just don’t get it. I see girls obsessing over how they are going to get asked and plotting how to get the perfect boy to go with them; “proposals” are all over my twitter feed showing over the top, ridiculous ways to get asked. For example, there are girls getting asked with new Nike shoes, Michael Kors watches, and puppies or kittens. Why is that necessary?

You are spending one night with this person. Why would you spend that much money for them to go to a school function with you? I obviously missed the memo that told girls to expect ridiculous things from boys. I honestly don’t know how I would react if a boy showed up on my front porch with a puppy, just to ask me to prom. I would most likely question what was going through his head when he thought that was a good idea.

What is even worse than the “promposals” is the dress shopping. Here’s why it’s insane:

“OMG her dress is the same color as mine! I can’t go looking like we almost match!”
“Wow her dress is so ugly… why did she leave her house looking like that?”
“You only spent $200 on your dress? Well I spent $860 so obviously mine is better.”
“She looks so gross, haha thank god I look better than her.”

I can’t even put into words how frustrating this is. Prom shouldn’t be about who looks the best or who spent the most, it should be a stress free event to celebrate the fact that you are done with high school. No one should care about how much other girls dresses cost or how they got asked or who they went with. Yet unfortunately, that is exactly how prom is now.

I hear these comments again and again and it’s truly depressing. Girls and guys alike are so rude to each other, and for what? What satisfaction does that bring to you? Please share with me how putting someone down makes your prom night better.

Girls – please focus on yourself when this night rolls around, and guys – please refrain from blowing your parents money on something that is better when it is sweet and simple. Let yourself enjoy prom, don’t ruin it by stressing yourself out over nothing.

2 thoughts on “Someone explain to me the obsession with prom?

Leave a Reply

