20 things I will do

I had a teacher last year who forced us to write 20 things we will do in our lifetime. Looking back, it was one of the best assignments I had ever completed. It was a list that made you really think about what you aspire to be and what you truly want out of the life you were given. I still have the sheet of paper that I wrote my list on – it hangs above my desk so I can read it each and every day. It is my inspiration to keep going; because of that, I decided to share my list with you. Here it is:

1. Ride an elephant

2. Eat a meal that I don’t think I would usually try, such as escargot.

3. Swim with sea turtles (COMPLETED!)

4. Study abroad

5. Be able to say “I made it – I’m accomplished.”

6. Change someone’s perspective

7. Have a son and name him Luke

8. Have a daughter and teach her what it is like to always love

9. Get a tattoo

10. Visit every continent, including Antarctica

11. Write a short story

12. Learn how to dance

13. Win an award

14. Fall in love with a man and have a ridiculously happy wedding

15. Have a chalkboard wall in my house and cover it with quotes that I love

16. Give my time to those less fortunate than I

17. Have a conversation with someone who is homeless; make them laugh

18. Go on a spontaneous trip with someone I love

19. Make enough money to take my Dad on a trip with me

20. Find a way to prove to him that I love him, and make him proud of me.

21. Adopt a dog from the humane society (multiple dogs are okay too)

22. Buy my mom and stepdad a very expensive bottle of wine, then sit down and drink the entire thing with them

I know I had a couple more than 20, but I don’t think it’s a bad thing to have a lot of goals! I encourage you all to write your own lists, and if you do, send me the link! I would love to read them. This truly is one of the best ways to really reflect and get to know yourself a little bit better.
  

5 thoughts on “20 things I will do

  1. HiI l just wanted to say that I love your blog so much and that you’re so inspiring! I think that I’ll write a list of things that I want to do too πŸ™‚
    /Reader from Sweden

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Kate, I came across your blog after watching Dr. Phil this afternoon and looking for an update on Kristi. I’m 53 and have one daughter – she’s at college. I just read your list of 20 things you will do and want to assure you that everything you listed is very doable – probably sooner than you think. However there is one thing that you don’t need to worry about – #20. As a parent I’m sure your dad knows you love him and absolutely sure that he has been proud of you since the day you were born. You don’t have to even try. I don’t know if you and your dad tell each other you love each other, but if you don’t I would recommend you tell him. I grew up in a family where we didn’t say “I love you.” When I had my daughter I wanted those words to be easy to say, every day and all the time. I thought about telling my father I loved him for a long time. I wonder why I was afraid say something so easy? Well my dad and I had always had a rough relationship. But we both mellowed with age and once I had my daughter, I saw a completely different man in my dad. He was so soft and sweet with her. I finally challenged myself to say it to him one day in closing on a long distance phone call. To my amazement he said it right back. And now a few years later, my dad says it all the time and often before I can. If you haven’t said it, don’t be like me and wait. About #21, I don’t know if you’ve ever had dog before, but the love of a dog has been one of life’s unexpected joys and totally unexpected. Although I’m not sure if I saved him or he saved me. You may like a documentary I watched the other night on Netflix (August), it’s called Dogs on the Inside. If you don’t mind, I’d like to make a suggestion I discovered and wished I had known earlier in my life. Volunteer somewhere – somewhere that means something to you. It not only does something good for the organization, but I think it helps me acknowledge all the things in my life that I am grateful for. And honestly, it feels good to know that I’m doing something good. One of my goals is to have my dog certified as a therapy dog.

    Best wishes with your list. I have a feeling it won’t take you long and you’ll be on to your next 20. Susan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

